# 7.2 GENDER EQUITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE – APPOINTMENT OF NEW COMMITTEE MEMBERS

(TE)

Responsible Committee: Gender Equity Advisory Committee

# RECOMMENDATION 1. That Council endorses the appointment of the following eight (8) people to the Gender Equity Advisory Committee, each for a two (2) year term: Jasmine Howlett Elleleen Springer Fiona Marshall Diana Hansen Tania Rose Debbie Lee Shamiso Murambi Alex Mills 2. That Council endorses two (2) year extensions for the following five (5) existing committee members: Jessica Anson Gauri Kapoor Poonam Mehra Puvana Sivakumar Jayde McBurnie That Council acknowledges and thanks the outgoing committee members for 3. their contribution over the two (2) year term: Sakshi Thakur Sunila Shivastava Ellena Orologas Julie Rae Krishma Naidu

# INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this report is to recommend the appointment of eight (8) new members to the Gender Equity Advisory Committee (GEAC).

# BACKGROUND

The role of the GEAC is to provide Council with advice on improving gender equity within the Monash community, to actively encourage women's full and equal participation in community life, and the implementation of Council's *A Healthy & Resilient Monash: Integrated Plan 2017 – 2021* and *Gender Equity Strategy 2015-2020*.

This Committee comprises of sixteen (16) members appointed by Council, which includes two (2) Councillors. Following a number of resignations as well as the

completion of the initial term for a number of committee members, the GEAC currently has eight (8) vacancies.

In addition to the new members, there are five (5) members recommended to remain on the committee for a further 2 years, as an extension of their initial term. These members are Jessica Anson, Gauri Kapoor, Poonam Mehra, Puvana Sivakumar and Jayde McBurnie.

There is also one (1) existing member, Rachel Reilly, who is in their second year of their initial two-year term in 2018.

# DISCUSSION

Following the resignation of several GEAC committee members, as well as the completion of several members' initial 2-year terms, there are a total of eight (8) vacancies available on the GEAC.

In August 2018, Council invited nominations from people living or working in the City of Monash who have:

- Knowledge and understanding of the needs and issues relevant to gender equity
- An interest and involvement in local and/or broader community partnerships, advocacy, networks or activities
- The ability to contribute to the strategic development of gender equity initiatives at local government level
- Direct links to local community populations and/or organisations
- Experience and/or understanding of the role of an advisory committee.

Council received a total of thirteen (13) nominations. All nominees were considered eligible and able to meet the necessary requirements for the role, therefore all thirteen nominees were invited to attend a group interview on Monday 27 August 2018. The interview was conducted by Crs Paterson (Chair) and Klisaris, with support from Officers.

The following eight (8) nominees are recommended to be suitable for appointment to the Committee:

- Jasmine Howlett
- Elleleen Springer
- Fiona Marshall
- Diana Hansen
- Tania Rose
- Debbie Lee
- Shamiso Murambi
- Alex Mills

All recommended applicants met the Gender Equity Advisory Committee membership criteria and demonstrated a broad range of skills, experiences and educational qualifications that compliment those of the existing members.

In addition to the newly appointed members, support is offered for the following five (5) existing committee members to remain on the committee for a further 2 years, as an extension of their initial term. These members are Jessica Anson, Gauri Kapoor, Poonam Mehra, Puvana Sivakumar and Jayde McBurnie.

There is also one (1) existing member, Rachel Reilly, who will continue on the Committee in the second year of her initial two-year term, until June 2019.

Council will thank the outgoing committee members for their contribution to the Gender Equity Advisory Committee over the two (2) year term by a letter from the Mayor:

- Sakshi Thakur
- Sunila Shivastava
- Ellena Orologas
- Julie Rae
- Krishma Naidu

# POLICY IMPLICATIONS

This report is in line with Council's A Healthy & Resilient Monash: Integrated Plan 2017 – 2021 and Gender Equity Strategy 2015-2020.

#### SOCIAL IMPLICATIONS

Members of GEAC contribute to the strengthening of Council's advocacy, policy development, planning and program implementation to promote gender equity and the prevention of violence against women.

#### HUMAN RIGHTS CONSIDERATIONS

This report is in line with the Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Act 2006 and in particular with the following rights: freedom of expression; and taking part in public life.

# FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no financial implications resulting from this recommendation.

# CONCLUSION

This report recommends the appointment of the following eight (8) people to the Gender Equity Advisory Committee, each for a two (2) year term:

- Jasmine Howlett
- Elleleen Springer
- Fiona Marshall
- Diana Hansen
- Tania Rose
- Debbie Lee
- Shamiso Murambi
- Alex Mills

In addition to the new members, it is also recommended that the following five (5) existing committee members be offered a two (2) year extension to their initial term:

- Jessica Anson
- Gauri Kapoor
- Poonam Mehra
- Puvana Sivakumar

• Jayde McBurnie

Council will thank the outgoing committee members for their contribution to the Gender Equity Advisory Committee over the two (2) year term:

- Sakshi Thakur
- Sunila Shivastava
- Ellena Orologas
- Julie Rae
- Krishma Naidu

# ATTACHMENTS

Attachment 1: Summary of Recommended Nominees (Confidential)