7.5 APPOINTMENT OF NEW MEMBERS TO THE ENVIRONMENTAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Responsible Committee: Environmental Advisory Committee

RECOMMENDATION

That Council approves the appointment of the following thirteen (13) community representatives to the 2018-2020 Environmental Advisory Committee (EAC) for a period of two years according to the current Terms of Reference:

Andrew Armstrong
Ayush Gupta
Howard Rose
Kallista Sears
Lee Tan
Phei (Faye) Lok
Andrew Allan
Carlie Dann
Kym Boekel
John Krohn
Meredith Ralph
Romany Cullen

- Steven Owens

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this report is to seek Council approval to appoint 13 members to Environmental Advisory Committee (EAC) from April 2018 until April 2020.

BACKGROUND

In April 2018, the current term expires for the community members of the Environmental Advisory Committee.

The role of the EAC is to act in an advisory capacity to Council on issues relating to environmental sustainability, improving the Monash environment and on the implementation of Council's Environmental Sustainability Strategy 2016-2026.

Established on 28 August 2007, the Committee comprises of up to sixteen (16) members appointed by Council including up to three (3) Councillors and up to thirteen (13) community members.

In line with the EAC Terms of Reference (refer to Attachment One) Environmental Community membership is re-advertised every two years.

As per the EAC Terms of Reference, expressions of interest for new EAC membership positions were advertised in the Monash Bulletin, on the Council's website and on social media. An online application form included the same questionnaire used for previous EAC appointments.

The role was advertised for two weeks, closing on the 6 April 2018.

DISCUSSION

Council received a total of 31 nominations. Assessment of the nominations was undertaken by EAC Councillors - Cr Brian Little, Cr Josh Fergeus and Cr Lynnette Saloumi, with the support of Council officers.

Each applicant was assessed on the information they provided and the skills and experience they presented. The composition of EAC as a whole was also taken into consideration in determining the suitable applicant create the new committee.

The following thirteen (13) applicants were considered suitable for membership of the Committee:

Members list

Andrew Armstrong
Ayush Gupta
Howard Rose
Kallista Sears
Lee Tan
Phei (Faye) Lok
Andrew Allan
Kym Boekel
John Krohn
Meredith Ralph
Romany Cullen

- Steven Owens

All recommended applicants met the membership criteria set out in the Committee's Terms of Reference and offer a broad range of skills, experiences and educational qualifications.

Some of the outgoing EAC members expressed interest in continuing to provide support and input to the EAC working groups, while not being part of the formal committee. The Sustainable Monash team will consider this during the renewal of the Terms of Reference.

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

The proposed appointments will assist EAC to continue to represent the community in relation to delivery of the Environmental Sustainability Strategy 2016-26.

The EAC Terms of Reference guided the process.

The Terms of Reference allows for previous members of the EAC to reapply if they are interested in continuing their role.

The Committee supports the delivery of the sustainability actions under the Council's Environmental Sustainability Strategy 2016-2026, Council Plan and Monash 2021: A Thriving Community.

The EAC Terms of Reference will be reviewed following the appointment of the new committee.

SOCIAL IMPLICATIONS

The valuable contribution that community members make through their participation on the EAC enhances Council's work in the area of environmental sustainability and ultimately facilitates opportunities for good advocacy, policy development and service provision for sustainability benefits and the community at large.

HUMAN RIGHTS CONSIDERATIONS

This report is in line with the Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Act 2006 and in particular with the following rights: freedom of expression; and taking part in public life.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no cost implications for Council regarding this appointment.

CONCLUSION/RECOMMENDATION

To enable the EAC to effectively support Monash City Council in delivering the Environmental Sustainability Strategy, this report recommends the appointment of following community members to the EAC:

Andrew Armstrong
Ayush Gupta
Howard Rose
Kallista Sears
Lee Tan
Phei (Faye) Lok
Andrew Allan
Kym Boekel
John Krohn
Meredith Ralph
Romany Cullen