# 7.2 APPOINTMENT OF NEW MEMBERS TO THE ENVIRONMENTAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Responsible Committee: Environmental Advisory Committee

# RECOMMENDATION

That Council:

1 Endorses the appointment of the following 15 community representatives to the 2020-22 Environmental Advisory Committee (EAC) for a period of two years according to the current Terms of Reference.

Ayush Gupta
Kallista Sears
Lee Tan
Phei (Faye) Lok
Ian Johnson
Peter Mathieson
Graham Bryant
Gary Codner
John (Jack) Krohn
Meredith Ralph
Steven Owens
Ravi Teja Pericherla
Joanna Prendergast
Sunny Bhatia

- Lara Yachou-Wos

2 Endorses the update of the Terms of Reference to increase membership to 15 community members to enhance the diversity of the group.

# **INTRODUCTION**

The purpose of this report is to seek Council approval to appoint 15 members to Environmental Advisory Committee (EAC) from July 31 until June 2022.

### **BACKGROUND**

The current term for the community members of the Environmental Advisory Committee was due to expire in April 2020, but has been extended until a new committee is formed due to COVID19.

The role of the EAC is to act in an advisory capacity to Council on issues relating to environmental sustainability, improving the Monash environment and on the implementation of Council's Environmental Sustainability Strategy 2016 – 2026.

Established on the 28th August 2007, the Committee comprises of up to sixteen (16) members appointed by Council including up to three (3) Councillors and up to thirteen (13) community members.

In line with the EAC Terms of Reference the Environmental Community Membership is readvertised every two years.

As per the EAC Terms of Reference, expression of interest for new EAC membership positions was advertised in the Monash Bulletin, on the website and on social media. An online application form included the same questionnaire used for previous EAC appointments.

The role was advertised for five weeks, closing on the 30 June 2020 – this time was also extended due to current COVID environment.

# **DISCUSSION**

Council received a total of 35 nominations. Assessment of the nominations was undertaken by EAC Councillors - Cr Brian Little, Cr Josh Fergeus and Cr Stuart James (Mayor), with the support of Council officers.

Each applicant was assessed on the information they provided and the skills and experience they presented. The composition of EAC as a whole was also taken into consideration in determining the suitable applicant create the new committee.

The following fifteen (15) applicants were considered suitable for membership of the Committee:

#### Members list

Ayush Gupta
Kallista Sears
Lee Tan
Phei (Faye) Lok
Ian Johnson
Peter Mathieson
Graham Bryant
Gary Codner
John (Jack) Krohn
Meredith Ralph
Steven Owens
Ravi Teja Pericherla
Joanna Prendergast
Sunny Bhatia

- Lara Yachou-Wos

All recommended applicants met the membership criteria set out in the Committee's Terms of Reference and offer a broad range of skills, experiences and educational qualifications. There were a good number of high quality applicants so it was decided to increase the membership to 15 to enhance the diversity of the group.

#### **POLICY IMPLICATIONS**

The appointment will assist EAC to continue to represent the community in relation to delivery of the Environmental Sustainability Strategy 2016-26. The EAC Terms of Reference guided the process.

The Terms of Reference allows for previous members of the EAC to reapply if they are interested in continuing their role.

The Committee supports the delivery of the sustainability actions under the Council's Environmental Sustainability Strategy 2016 – 2026, Council Plan and Monash 2021: A Thriving Community.

The EAC Terms of Reference has been reviewed following the reinstatement of the new committee with the variation in community committee member numbers. Please find attached.

# **SOCIAL IMPLICATIONS**

The valuable contribution that community members make through their participation on the EAC enhances Council's work in the area of environmental sustainability and

ultimately facilitates opportunities for good advocacy, policy development and service provision for sustainability benefits and the community at large.

#### **HUMAN RIGHTS CONSIDERATIONS**

This report is in line with the Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Act 2006 and in particular with the following rights: freedom of expression; and taking part in public life.

# FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no cost implications for Council regarding this appointment.

# CONCLUSION/RECOMMENDATION

To enable the EAC to effectively support Monash City Council in delivering the Environmental Sustainability Strategy, this report recommends the appointment of following community members to the EAC.

- Ayush Gupta

- Kallista Sears

- Lee Tan

- Phei (Faye) Lok

- Ian Johnson

- Peter Mathieson

- Graham Bryant

- Lara Yachou-Wos

- Gary Codner

- John (Jack) Krohn

- Meredith Ralph

- Steven Owens

- Ravi Teja Pericherla

- Joanna Prendergast

- Sunny Bhatia