Award winners 2017

Claire Cotter overall winner of the Sir John Monash Award for Outstanding leadership with award

2017 Sir John Monash Award winners

The below winners were announced at a ceremony on Thursday 11 May at the Monash Gallery of Art.

The overall winner of the Sir John Monash Award for Outstanding Leadership is Claire Cotter.

The winners and finalists in all eight categories of the awards are:

  • Multicultural Champion – Nawal Moudgil.
    High Commendations – Helen Andrikopoulos, Deon Manasis

  • Active Monash – Waverley Gymnastics Centre

  • Outstanding Advocate of People with Disabilities – Claire Cotter.
    High Commendations – Elizabeth Gosper, Vicki Hayes

  • Sustainability Leadership – Deborah Butler.
    High Commendation – Fiona Sherlock and Ashwood Children’s Centre

  • Youth Leadership Award – Emma Spencer.
    High Commendations – Tiffany Yang, Cherie Fung

  • Volunteer of the Year – Kristine Mitchell.
    High Commendation – Erin Mullner

  • Inspirational Women’s Leadership – Faduma Musse.
    High Commendation – Sunila Shrivastava, Nga Hosking, May Hu

  • Positive Ageing Leadership – Kathleen Banks.
    High Commendations – Helen Browne, Upa Upadasa


Sir John Monash

General Sir John Monash, for whom Monash is named, was a civil engineer and volunteer soldier during World War 1. By the end of the war he had risen to the highest rank in the Australian Army and is regarded as one of Australia's greatest heroes. It is only fitting that these awards are named after Sir John Monash.