Children's Book Council Awards 2024

Published on 26 April 2024

CBCA Book of the year categories: older readers, younger readers, early childhood, picture books, eva pownall award, new illustrator

Established with the first awards in 1946, the annual CBCA Book of the Year Awards aim to:

  • promote quality literature for young Australians by Australians;
  • support and encourage a wide range of Australian writers and illustrators of books for young people aged 0 through 18 and;
  • celebrate contributions to Australian children’s literature.

Key dates:

Notables List: Tuesday, 27 February 2024, 7.00 PM AEDT

Shortlist: Tuesday, 19 March 2024, 12.00 PM (noon) AEDT

Winners and Honours: Friday, 16 August 2024, 12.00 PM (noon) AEST

CBCA website

View the shortlist titles on our catalogue


Tagged as: