Municipal elections were held on 24 October 2020 by the Victorian Electoral Commission, who conducted the elections on behalf of Monash Council. A new Council was sworn in on Tuesday 10 November 2020.

Monash is represented by 11 Councillors who are elected by the community. Each of the councillors represents a ward, or geographic area, within Monash. Two councillors represent Glen Waverley ward while there are three councillors in each of the three other wards: Mount Waverley, Mulgrave and Oakleigh.

The Minister for Local Government has approved changes to the ward boundaries ahead of the next Local Government Election on Saturday 26 October 2024.

Monash will have 11 wards with a single Councillor representing each ward. These single wards will be named: Gardiners Creek, Blackburn, Gallaghers, Mayfield, Scotchmans Creek, Jells, University, Warrigal, Banksia, Wellington and Waverley Park.

More information: 

Contacting Your Councillors

Council Meeting 14 November 2023 - Glen Waverley Councillor Nicky Luo has been elected Monash’s Mayor for the next 12 months. Mount Waverley Ward Councillor Brian Little has been elected Deputy Mayor.

PRINT version: Monash Councillors - contact details(PDF, 460KB)

If you are not sure which ward you live in, please visit this section of Council's website - See What's Around Me - enter your address and then scroll down past the map to see your Councillors. Alternatively, view this map to see which ward you are in - Ward Map.

Councillor Code of Conduct

In February 2021, Council adopted an updated Code of Conduct for Councillors. The Code:

  • sets out the standards of conduct expected of elected representatives
  • endeavours to foster good working relations between Councillors to enable Councillors to work constructively together in the best interests of the local community
  • specifically seeks to lift the standard of behaviour of Councillors during Council meetings, Council briefing meetings and any other Council related meetings which Councillors participate in from time to time
  • mandates Councillor conduct designed to build public confidence in the integrity of local government

Code of Conduct for Councillors(PDF, 327KB)

Enquiries: Governance team on 9518 3509.

Councillor Gift Policy

This policy provides guidance to Councillors relating to the acceptance or otherwise of a gift offered to them.

In March 2021, Council adopted Councillor Gift Policy(PDF, 182KB)