Award winners 2016

Photo of Neha Salhuddin overall winner of the Sir John Monash Award

Below is a list of the 2016 Sir John Monash Award winners announced at a ceremony on Wednesday 11 May at the Monash Gallery of Art.

The Overall winner of the Sir John Monash Award for Outstanding Leadership was Neha Salhuddin.

The winners and finalists in all eight categories of the awards are:

  • Active Monash – Glen Waverley Socccer Club. High Commendations – Waverley Gymnastics Centre, Monash Warriors Gridiron Club
  • Inspirational Women’s Leadership – Margaret Hepworth. High Commendations – Crystal Fickers, Hazel Hockley, Jacqueline Teh
  • Multicultural Champion - Binquan Yan. High Commendations – Nawal Moudgil, Mark Robertson
  • Outstanding Advocate of People with Disabilities – Brian Girling
  • Positive Ageing Leadership – Andrea Whitty. High Commendations – Fred Koeppler, Adrian Bartholomeusz
  • Sustainability Leadership – Loretta Leary. High Commendations – Bryan Loft, Environmental Advisory Committee Sustainability Strategy Working Group
  • Volunteer of the Year - Angelo Sardellis. High Commendations – Tony Walther, Lindsey Castle
  • Youth Leadership – Neha Salahuddin. High Commendations – Peter Sun, Angelica Moutsos